Northwestern University Lunt Hall, home of the Math Department

Workshop on percolation, spin glasses and random media

May 27th–29th, 2016 - Northwestern University


Friday, May 27th (Annenberg G21)

1:00pm - 1:45pm

Louis-Pierre Arguin (CUNY)
Maxima of the characteristic polynomial of random unitary matrices - Abstract

2:00pm - 2:45pm

Wei-Kuo Chen (Minnesota)
A duality principle in mean-field spin glasses - Abstract

2:45pm - 3:30pm

Coffee Break

3:30pm - 4:15pm

Michael Aizenman (Princeton)
On Pfaffian relations in planar and non-planar two dimensional models - Abstract

4:30pm - 5:15pm

David Gamarnik (MIT)
Finding a Large Submatrix of a Random Matrix, and the Overlap Gap Property - Abstract

Saturday, May 28th (Lunt 105)

9:30am - 10:00am


10:00am - 10:45am

Elena Kosygina (CUNY)
A zero-one law for recurrence and transience of frog processes. - Abstract

11:00am - 11:45am

Augusto Texeira (IMPA)
Sharpness of the phase transition for continuum percolation on R^2 - Abstract

1:30pm - 2:15pm

Jon Peterson (Purdue)
Oscillations of quenched slowdown asymptotics for ballistic one-dimensional random walk in a random environment - Abstract

2:30pm - 3:15pm

Vladas Sidoravicius (NYU and NYU - Sh.)
Multi-particle diffusion limited aggregation - Abstract

3:15pm - 3:45pm

Coffee Break

3:45pm - 4:30pm

Gerard Ben Arous (NYU)
TBA - Abstract

4:450pm - 5:30pm

Jack Hanson (CUNY)
Chemical distance in 2d critical percolation - Abstract

6:00pm - (Harris Hall 108)


Sunday, May 29th (Lunt 105)

9:00am - 9:30am


9:30am - 10:15am

Alan Hammond (Berkeley)
Self-avoiding polygons and walks: counting, joining and closing. - Abstract

10:30am - 11:15am

Naoki Kubota (Tokyo)
Concentration inequalities for the simple random walk in unbounded nonnegative potentials - Abstract

11:30am - 12:15pm

Chris Hoffman (Washington)
Geodesics in First Passage Percolation - Abstract


The organizers are Antonio Auffinger and Elton Hsu.


NSF logo

This meeting is partially supported by a grant from the National Science Foundation to the probability group at Northwestern University and by the Northwestern Mathematics Department as part of the 2015/2016 emphasis year in probability theory.